Key Stage 5

Years 12 & 13: Level 3 BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

Course Structure

The BTEC Level 3 National extended Certificate in Health and Social Care extends and develops the learning which takes place in Key Stage 4, providing a more theoretical and refined approach to topics previously covered. It would be of benefit to anyone considering a career working with people and contains a high percentage of coursework, at 50% of a student’s overall final grade.

Year 1 – Mandatory Unit – Unit 1 – Externally Examined Assessment

Human Lifespan Development

In this unit, you will be introduced to the biological, psychological and sociological theories associated with human lifespan development. You will explore the different aspects of physical, intellectual, emotional and social development across an individual’s lifespan. You will examine factors affecting an individual’s growth and development such as the environment or genetic inheritance, and consider the positive and negative influences these have on development; including the impact on an individual’s concept of self. You will explore the physical effects of ageing and the theories that help to explain psychological changes.

Mandatory Unit – Unit 5 – Internally Assessed

Meeting Individual Care & Support Needs

To be able to provide the care and support that meets the needs of an individual in a health and social care environment, it is important that you understand the principles and practicalities that are the foundation of all the care disciplines. This unit introduces you to the values and skills that you will need for a career in social care or health care. Ethical issues will arise and challenges will need to be overcome when personalising care. You will reflect on the different methods used by professionals working together in a multi-agency team to provide a package of care and support that meets individual needs.

Year 2 – Mandatory Unit – Unit 2 – Externally Examined Assessment

Working in Health and Social Care

In this unit, you will be introduced to the roles and responsibilities of health and social care practitioners and the organisations they work for. You will see how a wide range of roles, including doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, social workers, youth workers, care workers and other professionals, work together to ensure that the individual needs of vulnerable people are met. You will learn how standards in this area are set and monitored and reflect on the role of professionals in this sector in supporting people with health and social care needs.

Optional Specialist Unit – Unit 14 – Internally Assessed

Physiological Disorders and their Care

You will explore different types of physiological disorders, how they are diagnosed by doctors and the types of appropriate treatment and support that service users may encounter. You will explore how the disorders you have chosen to study affect the body’s systems and how they function and their effects on an individual’s health and well-being. You will also learn about diagnostic tests and treatment options, as well as different support agencies and care settings.

Homework Policy:

At KS5 home learning will vary depending on the module being studied. Homework tasks will be set weekly. These may include research for assignments, DIRT work to use feedback to improve assignment quality and content and exam-based questions.

Setting Rationale and Structure

All teaching groups at Key stage 5 are of mixed ability and there are no sets for this subject.